Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Please help me to choose the best tubular tire for the race
Quote | Reply
There's a thread going on about racing with tubular tires and a lot of great tips have been posted. I've been following it everyday since it was posted.

https://forum.slowtwitch.com/..._tubulars__P7004230/

I got stuck with tubular wheels because I can't afford clincher disc wheel. Zipp tubular disc and Zipp 808 tubular wheel were cheaper than clinchers so that's what I have. Luckily, I've been racing with them for 3 years without getting any flats. I've been using Continental Gatorskin because of their puncture resistance. I average 22-23 mph in Sprint and Olympic Tris and am always in the lead pack when I ride with groups. Problem is I can really tell tires are heavy when I go for a long ride or do half IM race. Tires are wearing out, so it's time to get new tires and move on from Gatorskin as many people suggested in above thread. I searched Slowtwitch, did my homework and narrowed down to these tires. What I want is fast with low rolling resistance and good puncture resistance. I know they don't go together, but I want to buy the best possible ones this time around. Money is not an issue. I live in the U.S., so some tires in European market are not easy to find here. Tubular gurus, please help me out. I have two 70,3 races coming up in Sep and Oct, so I want to get the tires, mounted and train as much as I can. Thanks in advance!!!!

Vittoria Corsa Speed G+ Tubular 700x25mm $75.99

Continental Podium TT Tubular 700x25mm $67.77

Zipp Tangente SL Speed Tubular 700x24mm $78

Continental Sprinter Tubular 700x25mm $44.99

CONTINENTAL Competition Tubular 700x25mm $65.21

Continental Attack+Force Comp Black Chili tubular $130.50 (two tires front and back, so $65 each)

P.S.: Price is the lowest I could find when I googled. I have 2015 Cervelo P2(white frame with blue logo) and Gatorskin 700x25mm tires fit well.