Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Please help me ride faster
Quote | Reply
I think this is going to sound like a ridiculous question/problem, but I'm looking for any advice/suggestions/ideas.

Basically, for my entire triathlon 'career' I've always felt like I don't ride (in races) as fast as I 'should be' riding. I remember coming home from rides 10+ years ago and saying the same to my wife. I used to just chalk it up to being a mediocre cyclist/athlete (which I am), but I feel like there is something else going on and I can at least try to address (rather than just looking for new parents). And now that I've been riding for a couple of years with a power meter, trainerroad, and best bike split, I can at least quantify the issue a bit.

I'll lay out what happened in St. George as a case in point. My (fairly conservative) race place was to do the ride at about 76% FTP. I did a lot of time on the trainer over the winter and spent long periods at 80-85% FTP, so 76% should be a piece of cake. And yet, on race day, I ended up finishing the ride at 69%, 20+ watts below my plan. The whole time I 'felt' like I was riding at capacity, I felt like I was pushing the needed watts, but obviously I was not (I guess this is the opposite of the stereotypical well-tapered triathlete going out too hard on the bike). I've had this same situation is many many races, not just halves. In a few olympics and TTs last year, I wanted/planned to push 90%, but ended up at 80%. Don't get me wrong, I had a great run and a solid race, but I'm not a fast enough runner to be giving up 10+ minutes on the bike.

A couple of potential causes that I thought of:

1. I can hold the desired watts indoors, but not out: Not true. A couple of weeks ago I rode for 2:15 on the tri bike, glued to the aerobars, holding 77% and felt great.