Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: One Ironman? [Slowman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I guess I'd have to really see some hard evidence that what you are saying is true.

I'm no expert here but I woudl think that ones training in order to be top 4-5 in a HIM is going to be very close to that of top 4-5 in a full if you have the same level of athlete at both races. What it boils down to is the difference between what racing a full IM vs what racing a HIm takes out of you. Frankly I just don't see there being too huge of a difference. The full you're forced into a slightly slower intensity to maintain over the longer distance. The HIM you're going faster over the shorter distances. In the end the same amount or similar effort is expended and the next day you're still be soar and tired.

Granted I'd guess a full is slightly more exhausting but as a percentile difference between (Training for best performance in a HIM + Racing a HIM + Racing a full) vs (Training for a best performance in a full + Racing a Full + Racing a full) I just don't see a big difference as the training is similar and is far more damaging than the race.

If an individual is training significantly less for a HIM than they are for a full they likely aren't reaching their full HIM potential and likely won't qualify anyway, well unless they're very talented.

I do agree with you that in most cases, assuming the person has full IM experiance, a fast HIM'r will perform equally as well in a full so it's not really a qualifing issue for me. It's just that I don't see a difference between the two. The other issue I have with qualifing for a full with a half is the "experiance issue". I have no problem qualifing at a half *if* you've already done a full, but without experiance at the full distance I think your chances for a comparable performance to your HIM times plummet.