Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
OT - H1 visa - lawyer?
Quote | Reply
I know, I know...should go to Tibbs's room but that room is only for people who are interested in politics and half naked chicks...

I will move out of El Paso next year (may-june or so). Currently on an H1-B visa. so will get a new sponsor for my new visa...when you do this, do you have to re-apply for new visa or is there something like a change of sponsor that's easy to do and you remain on the same visa?

F - feel free to email
Quote Reply
Re: OT - H1 visa - lawyer? [Francois] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
grrrr - stupid in college email system!!!

here's what I sent:

I'm not a lawyer, but I have been pondering the same thing as you, so take it for what it's worth.

My understanding of the H-1B is that if you change *anything* about the conditions of employment you will have to resubmit your visa petition. That applies especially if you change institutions - I think it is the school that actually is sponsoring you - although I suspect it is actually a case of taking the same paperwork and changing a few names in most cases.

Hope this helps. Our International office is pretty good about answering questions so I can ask them in more detail if you'd like. Plus my girlfriend is starting her green card appilcation soon, so she has been talking to some immigration lawyers I can refer you to if that would help.

Hope this helps,
Best of luck,
Nick

------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://pavlov.psyc.queensu.ca/~psyc382/rockgold.html
(Norman Rockwell's "Do Unto Others")
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Been there. Have you started the process for a greencard yet? If so, depending on where you are in that process you are free to move and change employers. I beleive it when your I-140 has been approved and you have filed your I-485.