Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

No idea what I'm doing, but it's fun.
Quote | Reply
Until the last couple of weeks ago I've not run more than 5ish miles in a strectch since last September.

Also I started using a road bike for the first time in my life 4 days ago. Previously I was a mountain biker but I haven't ridden any bike since start of April last year.

I taught myself to swim last year. I could stay above water previously and spend hours snorkeling but never did more than maybe a half mile and never in a straight line. Earlier this month I did a bit more than 2 miles (1 mile laps) off Miami.

My primary sports are weight lifting and rock climbing.

Anyway a couple of days ago out of impulse I signed up for the local 70.3, its about a month and a half out. The IM website says the run and bike are "flat". I've never done a Tri before so it ought to be interesting.

Yesterday I did my first bike+run and was fairly pleased with the outcome considering I'm brand new.

Ive been reading a lot and plan to put together some sort of basic training plan for the next 6 weeks to avoid injury and get a little more structure.

I'm not chasing podium or HOP. Im just looking at avoiding DNF or BOP.

Anyway, aside from a lack of structured training plan what's the top things to research and things that newbies should know before they go?
Quote Reply
Re: No idea what I'm doing, but it's fun. [No Grit] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
From yesterday:

The bike started at 1:52 pm, finished at 4:28 pm, the run started at 4:38 pm and ended at 6:41 pm.

The bike and run were in downtown DC so a fair amount of pedestrians to move around.
Last edited by: No Grit: Apr 27, 23 7:49
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Maybe nutrition during the race. Not as critical for a 70.3, but you'll need to get some calories down on the bike.