Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
New bike - now which wheels!
Quote | Reply
Patiently waiting on a new Trek SC… considering some different options on wheels. Experience with Zipp 454/858 and the Super-9 disc. But super curious on others thoughts for comparables with HED or Swisside? Any opinions / experience here?
Quote Reply
Re: New bike - now which wheels! [AndyDawson01] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have Zipp wheels, disc and 858 and a couple of Chinese made cheap training wheels. Zipp wheels are overrated in my opinion. Some wheels are not as expensive as Zipp but faster. I’m sure other people will chime in but my advice is don’t get caught up on name brand like I did. I was a newb and I thought name brand wheels are absolutely faster than other wheels. Unfortunately, I didn’t know Slowtwitch back then and had no one to helped me. Good luck!!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Are you looking for an all around set out just race day only?

I'd agree with the comment above regarding zipp. Perfectly fine wheels, but there are so many options that are great now that kind of makes it hard to justify Zipp prices.

HED, Hunt, and others are all really good with slightly lower price points. If you want to go the route of off brand generic, there are a lot of china direct options that have compelling value, but with less flare and possibly service.

I think the bigger thing is rim width and depth. I'd be looking for a pair with an internal width of at least 21mm. Front wheel 60-80mm. Rear 75-full disc. Wheels and tires are going wider.... So best not to be way behind.
Last edited by: wildh24: Jan 28, 24 12:37
Quote Reply
Re: New bike - now which wheels! [wildh24] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks - looking for race wheels, and I’ll also grab a full disc as well - or at least will take a look at them. Racing on mainly 70.3 courses, some rolling hills, some flats.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
AndyDawson01 wrote: