Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Need help with race nutrition for 1/2 IM race
Quote | Reply
G'day,

I have my first 1/2 IM race coming up August 17 in Oahu, Hawaii, where I live. I have been doing tri's for 12 months now, but all have been Olympic distance or sprints. Nutrition on these shorter courses has never been a problem for me - maybe a gel and sports drink and I was good to go.

I have Gordo's book entitled "Going Long" which addresses IM distance race nutrition BUT I am looking for some advice for 1/2 IM distance race nutrition.

I train with gels, Cytomax and water, and I figure this is what I will also use on race day BUT since I have not done a 1/2 IM race before will it be enough for race day?

Heat is a concern (but I am used to it), and the course is tough (tougher than Keauhou-Kona 1/2 IM I am told) but I train on the course, so that is okay. Whilst I am not setting a time-goal for this race, I am capable of a sub-5 hour race if all goes well - with race nutrition being my main concern.

Thanks in advance for any/all comments.

"Hairy Legs"
Quote Reply
Re: Need help with race nutrition for 1/2 IM race [Hairy Legs] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
When I do half IMs I try to make sure I get 380-400 calories per hour on the bike. I used to go with Gels and sports drink. Now for a half I'll just use Carbo-Pro mixed in with a sports drink. Then I typically grab a gel for the run and consume whatever sports drink they have on the course. A banana or 2 helps along the way. For me, the key is not getting depleted on the bike and starting the run with a full tank. The run is long, but not so long that you can't get away with skimping a bit.

Good luck!
Quote Reply
Re: Need help with race nutrition for 1/2 IM race [Pooks] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply