Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Naturally high HR
Quote | Reply
I am always hearing people talking about long runs with their HR in the 120 range

I have been training for 10 years and can barley get out of the car without hr at 110

My easy runs normally around 145-150 and intervals around 175

Anyone naturally this high?

Yellowfin Endurance Coaching and Bike Fits
USAT Level 1, USAC Level 3
Quote Reply
Re: Naturally high HR [surfNJmatt] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
My LT (lactate threshold) is around 180. I keep light runs in the 140s and 150s. In the last 1/2 of the 10K in an Olympic distance I am between 200 and 210 BPM. I try to keep my HR under 170 during the bike portion of races. There is no standard HR. Our bodies all react in different ways to endurance athletic events.

I would strongly suggest doing a lactate threshold test and figuring out when you go anaerobic and how fast you can run aerobically and how long/fast you can hold an anaerobic pace. I used to run the 800 and 1500 meter races in college and so I have a very high anaerobic capacity, probably as high as any triathlete. However, my aerobic capacity is lower than it needs to be.

Learning this has helped me adjust my training. I have slowed down all my runs except one interval workout a week in order to keep my HR low and focus on improving my aerobic capacity. My goal is to run 7:20 minute miles for a marathon and stay aerobic. I have about 25 seconds more per mile to go to get there. This is not triathlon aerobic pace as the swim and bike cause my threshold to be slower per mile based on a factor of how many cumulative minutes I was anaerobic on the swim and bike.

2018 Races: IM Santa Rosa, Vineman Monte Rio, Lake Tahoe 70.3
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You're not alone. My numbers are pretty much the same as Sanrafaeltri.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I am 52 years old and my heart rate is almost always around 178 when I am running.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply