Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Moving Forward Feedback
Quote | Reply
Hey all – Just trying to get feedback on my general plan moving forward towards my first 70.3 next June 2020. More info below, but the TLNR version: training for my first 70.3 in June 2020, in and out of tri for last 8 years and looking to build up base next 3 months (4-5 runs per week, Z2, building ~10% per week; swimming 2-3 times per week, 2k-3k per session; biking 2-3 times per week, 1-2 hour longer session, 2 shorter 45-60 min session) then spend 4-6 week periodization blocks in 2020 working on each discipline, taper right, then destroy race goals of sub 6 (maybe 5:30). Just that simple.

Long read version; 38 years old, 6’6” 220, 16%BF. I’ve been doing tris on and off for 8 years, done about 15 sprints, 2 olys, various 5k/10k road races and one HM. Lurker and small time posting on ST for a couple years. Wife and I have 3 kids (8, 4 and 2), when #s 2 and 3 came training took a hit so I’ve only done 2 races last 2 years. Currently building my own plan with my A race being a 70.3 in June 2020, sprint and Oly in spring as warm ups. I like the idea of developing the plan myself, learning about the how and why, and life is crazy so I'm constantly pushing workouts around so a canned plan or coach would be tough to work around. I’ve read a couple books (Training Bible, Fast Track), gleamed info from here and have some past experience to pull from.