Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Modified my geometry
Quote | Reply
One of the things I've noticed on all my bikes, both conventional road and my tri bikes, is I always feel like I can't adjust the seat far enough forward. This has always bothered me because I feel like I'm pushing the pedals forward at the top of the stroke rather than pushing down. This, in turn, pushes me back on the seat. So I always feel like I'm pushing back, scooching forward, push back, scooch forward, back, forward, back forward. It has gotten very aggravating.

Now, I'm a nurse by profession but I have some engineering background thanks to my military service, and I have always just kind of had a solution oriented thought process.

So if I can't find what I want to fix my issue, I'll make it. Without going into all the details (which I can do if anybody is curious), I bought a cheap straight seat post and made a bracket that allows me to locate the seat as much as 2 inches farther forward than the forward most position I could get with even a "zero offset" seat post.

Here's the original configuration with an off-the-shelf zero offset seat post. I have a red line drawn through so you can see the most forward position I am able to adjust with this geometry.

This is the bracket I made in an attempt to test my theory.

And finally, the bracket as mounted with the seat. As you can tell, the seat is now around 2 inches (5cm) farther forward than the previous forward-most adjustment, and I still have another inch or more I could go if I really want.