Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Maffetone Training Questions
Quote | Reply
I am trying to be disciplined in following the Maffetone method but have some fundamental questions that I can find answers to, so am posting here.

My Maffetone calculation: 180 - 54 (years) = 126. I adjusted up to 130 because I have been training for over two years consistently and I read that at age 55 you can also adjust up 5 points.

1) What if the 130 is just over my true aerobic threshold. Have I really screwed everything up? That is, I have thought I was running just under my aerobic threshold when in fact I was slightly going over.

2) I run or cycle for 90 to 120 minutes 6 days a week. Can this screw up the body's adjustment to Maffetone because the duration is longer than 60 minutes, so it stresses the aerobic system more than it should?

3) I am NOT following the Maffetone high protein, high fat and low carb diet. Although it would surely be beneficial, I assume it is not necessary to gain the aerobic benefits, right?
4) I follow Maffetone for running and cycling, but not swimming (which I am still struggling with so there is no choice there. I do a lot of heavy breathing during swimming). I do 2 workouts a day. Does the non-compliant swimming workout 4 times a week screw up the body's adaption?

5) I understand that there are ways to add some HITT to the work (such as once a week do a HITT workout). Is this true? Any guidelines to follow?

6) I assume that, while my BPM max will never change, my speed will change over time. For example, following Maffetone's 130 BPM rule for me, I am running a 12 minute mile during workouts. I assume that at some future date(hopefully within a month or two), I will be able to run 11 minutes per mile, then 10, etc. while keeping to the 130 BPM. Is this assumption correct?

Many thanks in advance. Any comments or advise it appreciated.

- James
Quote Reply