Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Lake placid. Go home tourist
Quote | Reply
Quote Reply
Re: Lake placid. Go home tourist [Fishbum] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Fishbum wrote:
https://www.news10.com/news/ny-news/group-protests-tourists-coming-to-lake-placid-region/

Love the place.

I was just there over the weekend. I didn't see any protesters. And everyone was wearing masks in public. This seems somewhat isolated.

I am not sure if it was this person specifically, but by father-in-law (who also lives in the LP area) looked up one of the protesters who was ranting against people getting off the Northway with out-of-state plates... and learned she was actually from Connecticut and had a second home in the LP area (like many of us). So there is that...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm a resident. I was running and biking a lot this weekend. Didn't see one protester. Town had some tourist. Some Airbnb being used. Also 2 hotels were open, but supposedly you had to be an esential worker (nurse/doctor) to stay there.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I used to listen to "Talk of the town" each morning while driving to work (when I lived there).

There were constant call-in complaints about Tourists and Triathletes there for training. Arguments were often that the tourists were not shopping at the local hardware store, so they really weren't helping the local economy. (Which is invalid because the gas station owner, hotel proprietor, bike shop owner, all shop at the hardware store).

The sentiment isn't new, only the justification.

I talk a lot - Give it a listen: http://www.fasttalklabs.com/category/fast-talk
I also give Training Advice via http://www.ForeverEndurance.com

The above poster has eschewed traditional employment and is currently undertaking the ill-conceived task of launching his own hardgoods company. Statements are not made on behalf of nor reflective of anything in any manner... unless they're good, then they count.