Quo Vadimus wrote:
Page 14 of the Athlete Guide says nope.
âAthletes within the Kukui Division will not be eligible for awardsâ
i don't really like this.
How written and how applied may be different.
If just look at the event on the day then does feel kind of sucky. But I also appreciate the process and recognition of the World Championships so can see why they would be ineligible. Winning that title should be head to head (you cross the line first) and the philosophy is qualification earns you the opportunity to âcompeteâ for the title, not just the entry. Also, referees, etc. can focus on the race. Any time you have a blended competition with subjectivity you have to look at the process of getting there. First year they did swim waves and I think the intentionality was to let the qualifiers have the best chance to race fairly and earn the win. Again, not there and so only reading the guide but it is a reasonable decision to make.
I miss you "Sports Night"