Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Knowing when to quit racing.
Quote | Reply
I've been doing triathlons for about 15 years (mostly a lot 15 yrs ago and a lot lately with a gap in the middle to work hard, raise a family, etc.). The longest distance I've done is 70.3.

This last race in Boulder was catalytic. I knew going in I wasn't prepared for the run (missed one long run during my 12-week training and walked another in 105 degree heat). I knew I'd suffer but finish. Indeed, I had a very good swim and save for mechanicals and a flat on the bike, had a great ride. Suffered through the run (longer run split than bike). I swore during the run I was done racing.

I think I feel done because I just suck at running and the third leg is always soul-crushing and painfully difficult. The problem is, I love the training. I enjoy swimming and I'm pretty fast. I love riding my bike and excel at that, too. I want to love running and want to be competitive during races - but I don't and I am not. And this ruins racing for me.

So when does one know when to stop racing? 2/3 of the race is fun and the training is fun. Do I need a new coach, additional coach, no coach? Should I pick a different sport?

Alas, it's been a few days and I'm back on ST and thinking of racing again. Off I go for a run...
Quote Reply
Re: Knowing when to quit racing. [Pathlete] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have a friend that quit racing a few years ago but still trains with us. It's what he enjoys doing.

Some day he'll race again but right now he's got too much going on.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Quote:
I think I feel done because I just suck at running

Dude... Aquabike!

I quit for 37 years and that's what got me back again.

"They know f_ck-all over at Slowtwitch"
- Lionel Sanders
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If you legitimately don't want to run, start looking for aquabike events. There are a ton up in Boulder as well.