Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Is My LBS Screwing Me?
Quote | Reply
I may get flamed by some for this, but here it goes:

I dropped off my tri bike at the LBS that I've gone to since I started riding in 2006. I had already built up the bike, ran the brake cables and housing, and ran the cable and housing for the rear derailleur, but needed help running the front derailleur cable because there's an issue with the internal housing. I needed the shifters to be tuned and for them to look everything over since it's an older tri bike. I was quoted $107, which I was completely fine with, and had even told myself that I would be okay with paying around $200.

I got a call two weeks after dropping it off that it was ready, so I went in, looked it over, and then listened to the mechanic go over everything he had done. My jaw dropped when he told me the new total was over $400! He told me he ended up replacing the brake cables and housing I had installed with shifter cables (I don't remember why) and essentially said that the new amount reflected the man-hours he put into working on the bike. I told him that I couldn't pay that right now and that he should have called me to let me know what all needed to be done in addition to what I had initially dropped it off for.

Additionally, the housing that he replaced doesn't match what I had installed, so I'm going to have to go back and replace them so the right side of the bike matches the left.

So... am I taking it in the shorts by my LBS?

To rehash, my issue is with being quoted one price, and then being charged 4x that amount, without the courtesy of giving me a call to ask if they should continue (the owner has ALWAYS called me in tell me if there's a problem and whether or not they should fix it). I know that I'm paying for labor, but 4x the initial total seems exorbitant.