Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Ironman Training Schedule help.
Quote | Reply
Hey Gang...

in less than 13 days I'll be doing my first 1/2 Ironman! I feel ready. I feel psyched and pumped! The schedule I followed is this one:

http://tinyurl.com/8lkng (URL goes to HIM schedule)

I'm considering using the Full Ironman training schedule they have:

http://tinyurl.com/dsykq (URL goes to IM schedule)

But it seems to lack what a lot of the Triathletes here in my area(Macon, GA) have said which is you really need about 8 - 9 long rides of 100 miles ore more before going into the Ironman.

The above schedule for the Ironman has only 3 "longer" rides of 5-6 hrs. For me, to get in a 100 mile ride, it'll probably take around 6 1/2 - 7hrs. Remember, I'm a beginner here. My 60mile ride this past Sunday was 3hrs 15mins. (tons of hills)

At any rate, I'm wondering if I should simply pepper that schedule with Century rides here and there... Or, does someone else have another Ironman schedule they recommend for beginners like myself.

Info on me:
(10min / mile running) [Marathon in Jan: 4:46]
2.5 mile swim(pool): 1hr 30min
Longest bike, 60miles: 3hr 15min.

Ideas guys?(and gals :)
Trae

--
Trae McCombs
TSR - Sponsored by the Masses. Racing for the hell of it.
Ironman Finisher 2005 -- 14:09:18
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman Training Schedule help. [occy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Triathlete magazine they have a program by Paula Newby Fraser. One for beginners, another for intermediate and third for the skinny, shaved and M-DOT tattooed. I think it is quiet a good program.

I use the one I developed based on Don Fink’s book IronFit. He does recommend a few century rides. I also used others books mainly the Tri bible and Gordo’s going long.