Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Iden's moral
Quote | Reply
With all the respect, Iden has proved that equipment does not win races, but legs and arms. A 24 year old dude, no sponsor, an old TT bike and using a regular road bike has showed that some discussions are nonsense, from my POV. I am an amateur...and again with all the respect, i would invest my money in a coach, physiotherapist, feeding advice...Honestly, I dont think a 600usd neoprene vs a 200usd one will make such a difference but the training.
Ivan Raña, a local and former wc, said recently that triathlon has changed for the best and the worst. The sport is widespread, but some guys riding a 12000usd bike with no watts in the legs is just stupid. I would invest that money in more free time for training, smart recovery, injury prevention.
Recovering the spirit of the old ages....

Spaniard. Sorry for my english for the sensitive ones :P
Quote Reply
Re: Iden's moral [juanillo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That's all fine when your 20 years old.

But you miss that the average triathlete is what, 41?

With a career, maybe family, and generally time poor.

Money doesn't buy you time like you allude.
Money does buy you gear and a bit of speed here and there.
Money can also buy you more enjoyment, gadgets, interest, etc.

So for those that chose to buy the Ferrari of the bike world, fair play to them.
And for many, this may be their opportunity to own the Ferrari of the bike world, they may be on it 5-10hours every week, out with friends etc.

We all chose to spend on luxuries if we can afford it.
We all know training is what makes you fitter. Many cannot increase their hours for their hobby. That doesn't stop them spending on it.

By your token, stick to local cheap races as a race is a race. Don't travel to the expensive brand races etc.

Women buy shoes, bags, etc.
Men spend on their hobbies be it cars, sports, triathlon, golf, etc.