Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

I give up, help!
Quote | Reply
OK, I've been screwing around with my poser watch for two days now, and I can't figure it out. Why does it have seperate chono functions for laps vs splits? What's the difference, as far as the watch is concerned? Can you use both at once or something? How?

Sometimes I worry I'm never going to not be a poser. I'm not tech savvy enough.

"People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don't realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world."
Quote Reply
Re: I give up, help! [vitus979] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
depending on your watch brand, "split" can mean overall running time (e.g. on a Polar) or it can be synonymous with "lap". you use the "lap" function to measure a segment of time within your whole workout, for example a 2 min interval within your whole 60min run. you just keep on pressing lap whenever you want that segment of time to start and end. another way to use it is in a race. start your watch when the gun goes off, press lap when you get out of the water, again after the bike, then stop everything as you cross the line. that way you would have recorded your swim/bike/run times indepently as well as your overall time.

Kim
Quote Reply
Re: I give up, help! [dockimpoy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Right, I should've given some details.

The watch is a Timex Ironman. I do know what a split is and what a lap is, I'm just wondering what the difference is, from a practical point of view. The watch has seperate functions for each, but they're both controlled by the same crown.

I suppose, for instance, that if I were swimming a mile, I might want to know each individual lap time, and my quarter mile splits, right? I'm wondering if that's what these two features are for, and if so, how can I make the watch do that?

Thanks!