Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

IMCDA race report (short)
Quote | Reply
I just returned from IMCDA and this was my 4th Im, so i'm not a newbie, but not really a vet yet. While this wasn't my fastest, it is the one I am most proud of.

The swim was great. Water was 65 degrees and clear. Early morning had very little wind, but was already getting warm. I exited the water in just under 1:09 and felt great.

The bike course was a nice mix of flats and climbing, with some technical descents. It was a two loop course. By half way through the temp was really beginning to climb. On the stretch back to town, about 15 to 20 miles, some very big headwinds were coming up. Unfortunately we got very little benefit of tailwind because that was the climbing section in the mountains and protected by the pine trees. I saw a lot of drafting on the headwind portion. People were pretty blatant with 4 to 5 person pace lines. I finished the bike in 5:39 which was slower than predicted, but I was happy with it because of the conditions.

By the time the run started it was HOT. The high got to somewhere between 94 and 96 degrees. It was a two loop course with some hills and one moderate one. There was very little shade. I actually saw two people pass out at aid stations who were caught as they fell. I've never seen so many people walk. I finished with a 4:45 run for an 11:43. This was 35 minutes slower than predicted, but again with the conditions I was very happy to have had the mental toughness to finish.

Overall the course was good, the people were great and it was well organized for a first year event. The conditions were brutal with the heat and wind. I'm disappointed in the people who cheated. Several hundred didn't start the race and over 200 DNF'd. Everyone who finished Sunday had lots of guts and iron will.
Quote Reply
Re: IMCDA race report (short) [tpolitzer] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Congrats on your 4th. I'd take it. Nice bike split.