Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

How much swimming is too much swimming in the preparation for an Ironman?
Quote | Reply
For context, I am an OK swimmer (sub-30mn 70.3 IM, ~1h IM, swam 2h30mn in a 9km open water last year). I have been swimming 4-10km per week for the last 10 years, mostly aerobic, with some squad sessions here and there. I have been doing triathlons for a couple of years. My IM training is usually 18-22h/week. I have a 9-5 job.

I have registered for Ironman New Zealand in March 2020, and am also planning on swimming a 20km open water swim (Rottnest Island) 2 weeks before the IM race. Rottnest Island website suggests swimming 20-25km per week in the 3 months before the event.

- How much swimming is too much swimming in the preparation for an Ironman?
I have seen / heard of training plans for pros with massive swim volumes (eg. Norwegian ITU team?). But I am definitely just an enthusiastic amateur
If I want to keep the ~20h IM training per week and increase swim volume, I would have to cut on some riding/running…How much is aerobic training transferable in between the 3 sports? (to what extent does aerobic riding and running help your marathon swim training…? And the other way around?)
At what point gaining upper body muscle becomes a penalty for Ironman racing? (I am a small guy, 1m71, 61kg) What about the risk of shoulder injury?

- Is the combination of racing these 2 events a bad idea?

Thank you very much for your help!!

It doesn't get easier, you just get slower
https://mymsracesironman.home.blog/
Quote Reply
Re: How much swimming is too much swimming in the preparation for an Ironman? [Kampinou] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I would skip the 20km swim.
Quote Reply
Re: How much swimming is too much swimming in the preparation for an Ironman? [Kampinou] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Kampinou wrote: