Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Heavy sneezing and stuffy nose after swim
Quote | Reply
I don't know if it happens to some of you guys.
I re-started swimming this year after a 30+ years hiatus.
I swim in 5 local indoor pools in the area, depending on their time availability and mine.
I noticed after every 1 hr swim, I will sneeze about 15 to sometimes more than 40 times !
After that I have a stuffy nose for a few hours.
Is there such a thing as chlorine allergies ? All pools where I swim use chlorine, except for one that use a mix of salts and chlorine treatment. I didn't notice less sneezing in that pool.
I don't have any other effects after the swim, just this annoying thing !!
I just have to avoid going in the pool just before I teach my class :-) (I'm a culinary arts teacher) !!
Any knowledge about this ? Things to do to avoid, or prevent such a thing ?

Louis :-)
Last edited by: louisn: Feb 6, 19 3:54
Quote Reply
Re: Heavy sneezing and stuffy nose after swim [louisn] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I use a nose clip to avoid the snuffliness I get post swimming.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
FWIW . My wife and I call it pool nose, we get it randomly ( once every couple of weeks) but mostly after longer sets with a snorkel. This started about a year ago and the only thing we changed was started to use a snorkel for stroke correction. Usually it starts afternoon with sneezing and runny nose and by morning it's gone. We have not found a cure. 😢

"Be your best cheerleader , not your worst critic.”
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I had a similar thing when I first started triathlon about six years ago and I got a nasal/sinus flush kit from the chemist that helped but then it just seemed to go away and now I have no issues. It was definitely worse in indoor more chlorinated pools.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I use antihistamine nose spray (the sort you use for hay fever). Spray straight after and then another 12 hours later.