Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Has anyone moved back to a longer crank? [FindinFreestyle] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
FindinFreestyle wrote:
I bike fit for a living and have helped over 2000 riders make the change to shorter cranks. The vast majority of them have self selected their length on my fit bike. Some of them have went with my recommendations if we were fitting on their actual bike. To my knowledge, three of them have went back to longer cranks.

As an independent fitter, the biggest struggle with these changes is when the client takes my fit data in another bike shop and that shops literally talks them out of the length they self selected during the fit. "But you'll lose leverage/power!" or whatever bullshit they feed them. I'm like no, we already covered that.

The local bike shop is an evil villain… *always* talking people out of the correct crank length or a Eric Reid AeroFit.

<shrug>

Eric Reid AeroFit | Instagram Portfolio
Aerodynamic Retul Bike Fitting

“You are experiencing the criminal coverup of a foreign backed fascist hostile takeover of a mafia shakedown of an authoritarian religious slow motion coup. Persuade people to vote for Democracy.”
Quote Reply
Re: Has anyone moved back to a longer crank? [rruff] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
rruff wrote:
170-175 to 148-153 to 165-172.5

With shorter cranks you generally have less trouble over the top of the stoke. This is the one clear benefit... but only if that is an issue for you. The lower range of motion may be better or worse, the higher cadence usually needed to compensate may be better or worse, aero drag is probably worse unless you get more horizontal... in which case it might improve. Usually it's tiny differences in any case.

I don't think any of the pro male road racers who tried shorter cranks stuck with it, even for TTs. But tri, especially long course, are a different beast.