Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Goldilocks gravel tire
Quote | Reply
Trying to figure out the best gravel tire for me.

I've been riding my Clement MXP 33C for a couple of years and damn they are a good tire for both gravel and cx. Fast, no flats, half decent on pavement, grippy in the corners.
I was looking to move up to wider tires so purchased some Vittoria Terreno Dry 38/40C (they measure 40). They are damn nice tires, but I just can't get over the perception they are heavy and a lot slower than my MXP's.
I briefly rode a friends bike with Maxxis Ramblers and wow... they seemed nice (and fast?), but I didn't get to do a full gravel test.
Given my road and cyclocross background and light weight (142lbs) I think I prefer narrower rubber.
Is there a Goldilocks tire (fast, grippy, puncture resistant) in the 36-38C (measured width), sub 400g preferably?
The Panaracer Gravelking SK 35 seem popular.
Any new tires on the market (there are so many) I should be looking at?
Must be tubeless.
Quote Reply
Re: Goldilocks gravel tire [NordicSkier] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
WTB Riddler in 700x37?
I have used these extensively- They work really well.

Clement/Donnelley MSO in 36mm are also good. They are also kind of weighty, but they roll fast and the casing is robust.

On the light/small side Specialized Trigger pro in 700x33 if you can find them. I think they stopped making this size.
But if your riding style is light and you don't tear up tires- these are pretty good.

Schwable G-One in 700x35 is not bad, a little light on concerning ability.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
NordicSkier wrote:

I've been riding my Clement MXP 33C for a couple of years and damn they are a good tire for both gravel and cx. Fast, no flats, half decent on pavement, grippy in the corners.