Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Gerard, Herbert, and others--do AG athletes get sponsored?
Quote | Reply
ok, i am relatively new to the sport (2 years or so) and i was wondering--out of pure curiosity--if AG athletes can get "sponsorships." i've heard of some companies offering the better AG athletes stuff at cost. with all of the talk about companies battling for the pros, i was just wondering if/how AG athletes got sponsored. if at all, i imagine they would have to be national-level calibur at the least. once again, i am just curious--I am a MOP'er (4:42 HIM)--i am asking because i just got smoked by some really fast guys at a local race and was wondering about sponsorships. for now i'm happy to be "racing for the hell of it."
Quote Reply
Re: Gerard, Herbert, and others--do AG athletes get sponsored? [whineyass] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Absolutley. high ranking AG's get sponsorships...

Personally I know of 1 AG who has the following sponsors.

GU

Computrainer

CAT

Aegis

Syntace
Quote Reply
Re: Gerard, Herbert, and others--do AG athletes get sponsored? [TargetGoingLong] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
sweet..... is this a triathlete? did they seek out the sponsor? i.e. did the call up AEGIS and say "ehy, i'm ridin' your bike and i'm kickin' ass, so what can you do for me?"
Quote Reply
Re: Gerard, Herbert, and others--do AG athletes get sponsored? [whineyass] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have to chime in here becasue I'm a loud mouth know it all, but I am not Gerard or Herbert.

There are sponsorships and there are contributions.

Sponsorships are a business arrangement between an agency, athlete, team and a company with aproduct to sell. The bottom line is: Sales. When a company enters into a sponsorship arrangement with someone they have one question: How can you sell more goods for me? How can we quantify it?