Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Garmin Edge 305 Cadence
Quote | Reply
Is the cadence feature on the garmin edge 305 very useful? Why use that if you already have GPS?

Also, I've seen the cadence sensor and it looks really big. How does it attach and how does it look? Does anyone have a picture of it attached to their bike? I would love to see that. Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: Garmin Edge 305 Cadence [UMDRunner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I can't tell if you want bike or run info? Cadence is more useful on the bike, but it can be helpful for running, too. Just depends if you need it. The footpod is tolerable.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Only needed if you want to track your cadence, or use your bike in a wind trainer. Tie-wraps to the LH chainstay. Not overly big. Looks a bit like the cateye double wireless.

Trust me I’m a doctor!
Well, I have a PhD :-)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
The sensor itself is not very big at all. I would recommend it if you want to track your training when you are riding inside. I ride the trainer and rollers a lot in the winter and it is nice to log everything. I use it with the forerunner 305 and have had no problems.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
In addition to cadence, and the already metnioned ability to track indoor workouts, the GCS10 also supplements the GPS signal and takes over in cases where your GPS might drop out or spike so it also improves your speed data. It's not absolutely necessary, but having one you should notice an improvement in your data, should get less "random" auto-pauses (if you use that feature).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Is the cadence feature on the garmin edge 305 very useful? Why use that if you already have GPS?

Because I'm interested in knowing my cadence, not my distance? I try to keep my cadence at 90RPM.
That has 0 impact on my speed. Unless the GPS satellites are watching me much closer that I suspect,
they can't measure the frequency with which I spin my cranks. :)