Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Frustrated with my Felt B2 bayonet fork
Quote | Reply
I have a 2009 Felt B2 with a bayonet fork which I got this past winter, so this is my first year riding it. Early in the spring I was not as familiar with it I noticed the aerobars should creak when I would climb up a hill and had my hands on the handles\brakes. In other words, when I would shift my weight back and forth on either side. It would also creak when I would go over bumps and cracks and so forth. I did not realize it was getting loose until the handling got very unstable and I took it into the shop where I bought it.

They tightened things down and told me about a couple different screws getting loose. They mentioned that one of the screws is internal to the stem and that getting at it to tighten it requires some experience. Since I am not very mechanically inclined I was nothing to do with taking my stem apart.

Since then I have brought the bike into the shop twice more to have them tighten it. The last time – a couple hundred miles ago – he mentioned he put some locktight in a couple different screws to help prevent it from getting loose. However, I have noticed that it is starting to creak again when I hit cracks in the road and so forth.

I am planning to do IMWI and don’t feel that I should put up with a creaky bike, much less one that I have to take to the shop every few hundred miles. Does anyone have a similar issue? Are there recommendations on how to engage Felt over and above my local bike shop?

Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: Frustrated with my Felt B2 bayonet fork [williad] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
A couple thoughts on this.

Firstly, and I don't mean this in an abrasive way, but welcome to racing- or more correctly, race maintenance.

A normal, recreational bike is a wondrous vehicle because it requires so little work to keep going. For that matter, so is a modern passenger car- not much maintenance needed.