Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Foot pain, no fracture, high arch - Help please!
Quote | Reply
Hello!

My background: 38, M. I've been doing triathlons for a couple of years and before that I was a runner. The only major injury I had was an it-band syndrome (left leg) after my first and only marathon cycle (+8 years ago), and a bit of plantar fasciitis more recently (left foot).

Since November 22, I've been averaging 25/30mi per week (running), and I focused on consistency more than anything. I didn't do ANY intensity work during this time. Beginning of March, I started my training for some 70.3 races I have scheduled. Everything was going well until my first track day: 20x 1min at 7min/mi but I was feeling good and ended up doing at 6:00/6:10min/mi. Too much too soon? 2/3 into the workout, I felt some discomfort on the top of my foot (left side, once again), but nothing concerning. I thought my shoes laces were too tight. I was able to finish the workout, and the pain went away that evening. Next day, pain free, I did a 4mi run but the pain came back. A bit stronger.. so I cut the run short. Took 2/3 days off, tried again and the pain would always come back. At that point, I knew there was something wrong with my foot so I pretty much stopped running, but kept swimming and cycling. I did a mile or two here and there but very easy to see if it got better. I didn't.