Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Easton EC 90 Equipe Carbon Bar Slipping on Rides
Quote | Reply
Please, I need your help and/or advice.

I have recently, 9 days ago, purchased an Easton EC 90 Equipe carbon road bar 26.0 mm diam. and an Easton EA 70 stem. I thought these were top of the line components. This was part of a rebuild with a new frame after a crash that did in my "cherished" Serotta csi.

I just started riding the bike and have discovered that the bar will slip and rotate forward while riding, usually over rough stretches of roads. Not like a jump, but it creeps forward incrementally and over time will 10-15 degrees.

Before anyone starts, the bolts were tightened to specs with a torque wrench, 70 inch lbs.

What struck me at first, was that the clamping surfaces were for the most part polished or smooth. It just doesn't seem that the coefficient of friction is high enough to keep the bar from turning in the stem clamp. It seemed like maybe the surfaces of the stem clamp should be scuffed up a little (sandpaper) or maybe a little loctite or contact cement put on the clamping surfaces to stop this turning.

I hesitate to put glue or loctite on the bar for fear that there may be some reactivity with the resins in the carbon bar. Obviously, this would void the warranty. Then too, scuffing up the clamping surfaces with some sandpaper could "increase" the bore of the stem clamp and also void the warranty.

I felt confident that some SlowTwitch "experts" had had experience with this problem before and could offer advice.

I contacted my LBS, who is otherwise great, and was told that Easton will want me to deal with them directly, not through the LBS. They will want me to send them the bar and stem for "inspection". Meanwhile, I am out of a handlebar and stem and unable to ride my bike. They will not send a replacement bar/stem to use while mine is being inspected.