Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Duathlon pacing
Quote | Reply
I am “racing” a DIY standard distance duathlon this Sat (10k/40k/5K). I’ve never done a du before. While the race is just against myself, I want to give it my best effort and am coming off a solid 70.3 training block. Any tips on pacing and what to expect?

The course will essentially be about 9 laps around an 3.75 mile perimeter island where we have a summer home. The is only one stop sign (where a family member will direct “traffic”) and more golf carts than cars. Roads are paved (but pretty rough/cracked/etc), lots of turns, with two little diggers each lap.

I was thinking:
— 10K: Nice and controlled open 13.1 pace
— 40K: Race like an Oly Tri, targeting 90% of FTP, though the road quality and course will make this difficult without a lot of surging. My guess is bike handling limitations will have me maxing out at around 85%.
— 5K: Empty the tank. Start at open 10K pace, and just build to redline in last mile.

For context this would result in a 2hr 20min projected finish time, including 2-3 min of transition.
Quote Reply
Re: Duathlon pacing [wintershade] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I think your strategy makes sense, especially for your first Du. At the pointy end, that first run tends to be paced pretty hot, like close to open 10K hot, minus a finishing kick. If you do that you'll feel it in your legs on the bike, so may have to temper expectations there. Likewise the second run, the first kilometre or two will feel terrible but the legs will come around, but again, don't expect to be able to hit your goal paces, just do what you can.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Duathlons are much harder than the equivalent distance Triathlon.

Your plan looks good.

However the tank will feel like it is already empty before you reach the last run. If you feel good starting the last run, you haven't done it properly.