Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Do consumer hr monitors work with messed up hearts?
Quote | Reply
I have cardiomyopathy and have been able to exercise ok enough, but I like to keep an eye on my HR with a monitor. As my HR gets up to a higher level, I get more cuplet and triple beats according to hospital tests, so I tend to back off at that point.

So my question is, do strap or optical heart monitors do much of a job measuring a misfiring heart or are the numbers just garbage? My new Garmin keeps automatically setting my max much too high and I'm wondering if the root cause it the device picking up these fluttering beats.

Hopefully I explained that on, I'm not a medical expert.
Quote Reply
Re: Do consumer hr monitors work with messed up hearts? [jroden] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
At least with my experience with afib, while using a Bryton HR strap and various Garmins (500/920XT/530), they seem to work. I actually first noticed my afib with occasional spikes showing up on Strava, which progressively got worse and worse. The sudden jumps in HR corresponded with a feeling like I got the wind knocked out of me. That feeling would go away at the same time my HR dropped back to where it had been before.

But even when my HR would stay up in the 180-220bpm range, it never affected my max HR or zone settings. Post ablation, I still occasionally get a quick spike, and those show up on my Garmins and on Strava:

"I'm thinking of a number between 1 and 10, and I don't know why!"
Quote Reply
Re: Do consumer hr monitors work with messed up hearts? [Warbird] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks that's helpful. I was in afib for a while also And the strap measured it well. The Apple watch also caught it.
Quote Reply
Re: Do consumer hr monitors work with messed up hearts? [jroden] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Not a Dr. So...