Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Disc wheel on rolling course?
Quote | Reply
Doing the kinetic half this weekend. If I make it through the chilly swim, I'm wondering whether I should use a rear disc or not on the bike. The course is "rolling" with 3000ft of elevation change. I've never used a disc before on a rolling course, or for any race for that matter, and I'm wondering if I'm going to be regretting it on the first hill.

I have a H3 on the front, and I'm wondering whether I should use a H3 for the rear. This is the race set-up that has been comfortable for me in past races. The disc just feels slower on the road, even though I know it is supposed to be faster.
Last edited by: trirookie: Apr 19, 07 4:50
Quote Reply
Re: Disc wheel on rolling course? [trirookie] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Always use the disc.

Ric
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Its not that heavy use it.

Grant

Grant
----------------------------------------------------
Proudly sponsored by Desoto Sports
Please Support CAF every little bit helps http://raceforareason.kintera.org/grantreuter
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Use the disc. Its fastest. I easily use my disc around here with at least that much of climbing. My "flat" course has 2000ft of climbing. My hilly route can have at least 5000ft and I can still use the disc to my advantage. The disc will really pay off on the downhills with the high speeds.

Paul
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
How much heavier is your disc than the Hed 3? 100 grams? 200 grams? If you can feel .25% weight change on a hill, all I can say is... WOW!

If your disc feels slower on the road, however, I would be very suspect that there is something wrong with it. Bad hub? Inferior tire?

----------------------------------
Justin in Austin, get it? :)

Cool races:
- Redman
- Desoto American Triple T
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If you are in the 50-54 M agegroup, I recommend you not use a disk. Instead I suggest you use a spinergy wheel.