Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

DT Swiss 1400 DICUT in wind
Quote | Reply
A general question. I have been using these wheels since 2020. No issues with them and seem to be solid as a rock relative to other wheels I’ve had, Zipp and Revolver.

I do have one open question for anyone else who has them - these wheels claim to be predictable in the wind but I’m not so sure based on my experience. I’ve had a few “holy s*%t” moments and most recently had a serious speed wobble going down a winding descent which up until the last 1/100 of a second I was either going into a cliff wall or staging a dramatic fall to prevent that from happening. It’s got me thinking if anyone else found the same experience using the wheels? The ironic thing is - the USP are quoted as being more predictable in the wind
Last edited by: keepdrilling: Jul 18, 23 8:54
Quote Reply
Re: DT Swiss 1400 DICUT in wind [keepdrilling] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I rode a arc 1400 62 in the front for two years and experienced the same as you did. Unpredictable and prone to catching wind.

I now ride an 808 firecrest (rimbrake, old version) and have way more confidence. The difference is night and day. Even on high speed descends with high winds i’ve never been thrown around as i did with the dt swiss’s.
Quote Reply
Re: DT Swiss 1400 DICUT in wind [keepdrilling] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I had ARC 1100’s in 80mm and 60mm in my P5 and had many light speed wobbles rear, but also front. But also they catch quite a lot of wind. I more or less got used to it, but…….no riding a Cadex with the 4 spokes and the difference is so shocking. That bike wheel combo is ridiculous stable. We have had some very windy days last few weeks and all those things that happened with the ARC’s is no longer there.

Jeroen

Owner at TRIPRO, The Netherlands
Quote Reply
Re: DT Swiss 1400 DICUT in wind [Fusion] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply