Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
DITY bike maintenance
Quote | Reply
So after 2 years (i'm still a fat cycling novice) of having the new road bike I took it in for maintenance at a local bike shop for a multitude of issues. Apparently the chain needs replacement after 1000 miles (i've probably logged 10,000) and the cassette and cabling needs replacement too. Additionally, I wanted a full tune up (whatever that really means) for an upcoming event. All in all, about $300.00. Granted I had brake and shifting issues, so I see this as necessary to upkeep a functional entry level bike, but good lord the price.

Question is, would I be better off buying parts off Amazon or something and maintaining the bike myself? Or is that price reasonable for the occasional once in a while maintenance? I have no idea how much time it would take to become an efficient mechanic for my own bike, but what do you guys think and what do you guys do? Is the money saved worth the time and education investment?
Quote Reply
Re: DITY bike maintenance [wduke59] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I’m on both sides of the fence...I do most of my own maintenance now, but I take my bikes in enough that the LBS knows who I am and appreciates my business. Everything you listed is pretty simple (changing a chain and cassette, adjusting derailleurs, etc), and neither of those require expensive tools, but they do require a small investment in things like a cassette lock ring tool and whip, the wrench to turn it if you don’t have that, a chain breaker tool, and then the time to learn how to do each. Running cables (brake or derailleur) can be very easy or somewhat frustrating, but I wouldn’t call it difficult on most bikes. If it was me, I’d take that $300 and buy some Park Tools, settle in with YouTube and get to know your bike a little. Definitely wouldn’t pay that much for the maintenance you listed.