Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

DI2 Newbie. Cannot get into manual shift mode
Quote | Reply
I've got a brand new bike. Against my better judgement, I went electronic shifting, Dura-Ace DI2 9150 on it (Edit: I checked the derailleur to verify it is 9150). Now I'm having difficulty completely disabling the synchro-shifting. This is my first time with Di2 so I'm sure I'm doing something wrong.

The guys who built it told me they put it into Synchro-Shift mode 1, which I was told means that it basically won't go into the smallest two cassette rings when the front chainring is in the small ring. I tried that for one ride and that's not for me so I'd like to put it into manual mode.

So I double-clicked the little "mode" button on the handlebar to move to "Manual Mode" (both lights solid).

But even that mode does not do what I want. When I click the left shifter to downshift up front I would expect a "Manual Mode" to downshift up front even it puts me into into cross-chain. But if I do that while in the biggest gear on the bike (so smallest cog on the cassette) it instead just shifts the back to a larger ring. It's still trying to "help" me.

I thought that maybe I hadn't truly entered Manual mode so I started cycling through all 3 modes and trying this. Same effect on all of them.

Is there some other thing I have to do to get into manual mode? Or could the guys at the shop have somehow programmed manual mode out of this thing?
Last edited by: JoeO: Nov 26, 20 12:19
Quote Reply
Re: DI2 Newbie. Cannot get into manual shift mode [JoeO] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
What shifters do you have? If they're one button shifters, there is no manual mode option like you want. If you have two button shifters, I'd just recommend getting the etube application and looking into the shift settings.
Quote Reply
Re: DI2 Newbie. Cannot get into manual shift mode [imswimmer328] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply