Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Could use some success stories re: returning to training post cardiac cath
Quote | Reply
Doing ok, odds are all goes well and back at it in a few weeks. But, sure could use the mojo boost of hearing about you or someone you know that had a strong return to 'competitive' training after some cardiac stents get placed.

I'm about to turn 50. History of high cholesterol that I did a poor job of accepting statins would help and never got on a regular regime. Once I heard that this was familial, I pretty much decided I was safe and my numbers would always be high. Have always been so active and 'healthy' that I would go years between primary care doc visits.

I've been training for 20+ years now. More training than racing. Adopted the lifestyle. Diet has gone from bad in my 20s and early 30s and evolved into almost great in my 40s. I say 'almost great' b/c I have superb control over my food choices throughout the day but I tend to let my guard down in the evening and eat like my 20 year old self. BMI is 22. And, I really focus on all of those other recovery things, too (ie...sleep is good).

I just found out this week that 2 of the majors in my heart (RCA and LAD) are extremely clogged up and I'll need stents.

I'm the luckiest man alive right now. (N of 1). My training is very, very consistent. 8-12 hrs/wk. A balanced mix of low HR biking with the right proportion of sweet spot and threshold work....so, there's enough High HR stuff in there that I've been working the pump out, rest it, repeat it. Same for the run. More biking than running. Swimming is just a recovery tool that I use for technique work and is very low stress, 2-3x /wk.