Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike time trial taper
Quote | Reply
For all you cyclist gurus out there I was wondering how you all prefer to taper the final 7-10 days before a key 40k time trial. I ask this because I am planning on racing a time trial coming up soon and have never done just a bike time trial.

Also, I would like to use some of the input to help with my bike taper before my key olympic triathlon. It seems as if over the years I have nailed my own taper for the swim and run but I have trouble getting my legs to respond properly on the bike during race day. One race I will feel strong and powerful on the bike and the next race my legs are sluggish and feel tired. I know many factors can affect this but Im pretty sure its how im tapering before a race. Any advice would be great!

A little background. Ive been racing for 5 years and post bike splits in triathlons right around an hour. Looking for that last little speed to get me down around 57-58 minutes consistently. thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike time trial taper [klingding] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I seem to have more success when I taper the volume a lot more than I think I should and taper the intensity a lot less than I think I should. I had a big PR last year in the 40k and my last 10 days looked like this:

Everything was aerobars at this point
1 - 2 x 30 as hard as possible within a 95 minute ride, 3 x 1 minute very hard to finish.
2 - 90 minutes unstructured but mostly tempo in the aerobars the whole time
3 - 23 mile TT, race effort and gear rehearsal, 47 minute race, 60 minutes total on the bike
4 - 20 minutes easy, less than 50% of threshold
5 - 2 x 20 at projected 40k tt power, 70 minute ride
6 - off
7 - 10 minutes at 105% of projected 40k tt power within a 40 minute ride
8 - 45 minutes with 3 minutes at VO2 max (115%) and 2 x 5 minutes at 105% of projected 40k tt power.
9- off