Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike question for the power training experts
Quote | Reply
I am relatively new to training with power on the bike. I have found that I can put out the same X watts at a HR=145 bpm and cadence=60 rpm as I can at a HR=155 and a cadence=80. My question is which scenario (lower HR/lower cadence vs. higher HR/higher cadence) would be most advantageous for a better HIM run?

Before you tell me to try it out in training and see what happens, I plan to. But i wanted to see what works best for the experienced STers.

My second question as a follow up is whether it is a physiological given that higher cadence = higher HR to achieve a certain power output? Or could this be equalized, or even reversed, with specific training methods?
Quote Reply
Re: Bike question for the power training experts [ZenRT] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
cadence of 60 is low. Of the two choices, I would go for 80/155 every day of the week. 90/155 might be even better...

----------------------------------------------------------------

My training
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Monday AM bump.

Can anyone help a brother?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
Monday AM bump.

Can anyone help a brother?
Sure. Toss out the HRM. You're using a PM so HR doesn't need to be looked at again except for intellectual curiousity.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I think you are giving HR a bit more importance than might be ideal. You train with power because it is a direct measure of what you did. HR is an indirect measure of intensity. It tracks how the heart and lungs responded to the demands you are placing on them via the legs, what you are already monitoring with power. HR values can have useful information but you should not use it as means to measure efficiency on the bike because as you have already discovered, low cadence = low HR.

My $0.02 would be to focus on raising your power levels and racing intelligently given your training

Jason