Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bad IT band syndrome in knee, 7 weeks til IM Louisville...should I defer?
Quote | Reply
Training was going great for my first IM until 2 weeks ago. Rode 101 miles Saturday then ran 15 miles Sunday and at mile 14 had severe pain in the right knee. Def think it’s an IT band issue. Never had this before but can’t run at all until further notice. I have until 45 days out from the race to defer to 2019. Any folks with IT band issues got any advice for how long this may take? I’m a physician so I know everyone is an individual with these things. I’ve iced, rolled, taken NSAIDs and a medrol dose pack. No pain while swimming or riding. Can’t run more than 60 seconds before crippling lateral knee pain.
Quote Reply
Re: Bad IT band syndrome in knee, 7 weeks til IM Louisville...should I defer? [triguy86] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'd recommend seeing a physical therapist - also, massages, acupuncture, dry needling, floss bands.

Maybe try to get on an alter-g treadmill to see if you're able to run a bit with lessened impact.
Quote Reply
Re: Bad IT band syndrome in knee, 7 weeks til IM Louisville...should I defer? [triguy86] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
triguy86 wrote:
Training was going great for my first IM until 2 weeks ago. Rode 101 miles Saturday then ran 15 miles Sunday and at mile 14 had severe pain in the right knee. Def think it’s an IT band issue. Never had this before but can’t run at all until further notice. I have until 45 days out from the race to defer to 2019. Any folks with IT band issues got any advice for how long this may take? I’m a physician so I know everyone is an individual with these things. I’ve iced, rolled, taken NSAIDs and a medrol dose pack. No pain while swimming or riding. Can’t run more than 60 seconds before crippling lateral knee pain.