Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Analyzing race power output vs indoor FTP
Quote | Reply
I am a newbie when it comes to training with power, and have yet to fully utilize the data. However, I completed a solid block of training throughout the winter that saw a heavy increase in bike volume. Within this period I set a new FTP of 273, done in aero on the trainer. Power is based off crank arm power meter.

After having done my first 2 races of the 2019 season, I am slightly disappointed with the seemingly lack of gains on the bike. After completing the Monte Rio Olympic Triathlon this past weekend, my power output was the same as that of my first race of the year at the Folsom International Triathlon (also lower than expected).

Monte Rio is a relatively flat course with a few rollers in the middle of the bike leg. There was moderate to high wind throughout the bike as it was along the coast.

My main question is what could be causing the drastic decrease in power when racing outside? I weigh 65.77 kg which would put the FTP of 273 at 4.15/wkg. Looking at Monte Rio, I had an avg. of 226 and 233 NP.
Even if I take into account Normalized Power, 3.54 w/kg is still a difference of 0.61 w/kg! During the race I felt calm and focused, and was seemingly red-lining it the whole time. From what I've read it is typical for outside power to be greater than indoor power, not the other way around. Although you typically wouldn't want to be pushing your FTP for an Olympic bike, shouldn't there be much less of a difference between it and what I rode?

The one conclusion I have come up with is that indoors, I usually hold a cadence of 80-90 rpm. This ride had an average of 96. Could I just not have done enough miles outside to get used to pushing the same cadence/power as I do inside? I have not changed my position since doing the FTP test about 2 months ago.

Open to any thoughts, suggestions, etc. Thanks!

Dominic Pollizzi