Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Age and the Decline [linkslefty] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hi: I've been doing triathlon for 40 years.
I started triathlon training when I was 25, and my fastest "short course" times for all endurance events (sprint tri, Olympic tri, sprint du, 5k run, 10k run, 1/2 marathon run, 40K stand alone bike TT) all came about 6-7 years later (age 31-32). After that, I kinda hit a plateau for about 5 years and stayed "fast" but did not get faster. During this time period, I mostly did shorter races, with only a few 70.3s (no IMs) and a few marathons.
After my first 12 years (about age 37) I noticed that my stand alone run times (5k and 10k races) were slowing. Also, I did not recover as quickly from hard workouts compared to my 20s and early 30s.
So, at 38, I started doing some longer races (IM and 70.3, and long course duathlons). My short course times were now
5-10% slower than before, but my fastest "long course" times (IM, 70.3 and marathon) all came about 7-8 years later. After that, I kinda hit a plateau at long course for a few years.
In summary, I was either improving or "fast" at something (either short course or long course, but not both at the same time) for a period of about 24 years.
One of the great things about multisport is that you have 3 different sport, and multiple different distances, in which you can strive for improvement. It is pretty rare to be "at the top of your game" at all 3 sports. and at all distances, in any given year, but as you slow in one area you can compensate by getting faster in another (at least for a while).
And once you've slowed in everything you did before, you can try new things--since turning 60 I've tried draft-legal triathlons, swimruns, off-road tris, masters swim meets. etc. I'm 65 now, I'm slower than ever, but I can still find new challenges, and that is how I "cope" with Father Time.
Quote Reply