Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

A grand way to start my day...
Quote | Reply
As some of you know, I fly a lot for a living. As a result, I'm a little more relaxed about the "lead times" to catch my flight. When you fly 6-10x/month, it just happens. Having status with the airlines, combined with a NEXUS pass generally allows me to go from curbside to gate/lounge in 10-15min.

Today I arrived at the airport a little before and hour prior to my flight. An hour is plenty of time to clear - even with a bike, and since there's no Continental lounge in Vancouver, I didn't want to be *too* early.

Well, the guy at the check-in counter decided that I was too late. "There's a huge line at customs". Yes, but I have a NEXUS pass - I can skip that. "There's a huge line at security, too". Yes, but either my NEXUS pass or my Elite status with the airline will allow me to skip that as well. "My manager already said no more" Surely you can call him and ask for an override - I'll be at the gate in 10min. No dice.

So here I am, waiting 3hrs for the next flight to Houston. To add insult to injury, he "booked" me for the next flight, but then told me I had to come back in an hour to check in - apparently I was "too early" to check in for the later flight. I lost my 1st class upgrade, too. Bastard.

So I'm sitting there wondering why an agent would be such an asshole to an Elite member? When I checked in for my later flight, I got my answer: Dude's an NWA agent - so he doesn't give a shit about Continental clients. Nice!

Needless to say, I got dinged $85 for my bike, too.

<If you're gonna be dumb, you gotta be tough>
Get Fitter!
Proud member of the Smartasscrew, MONSTER CLUB
Get your FIX today?
Quote Reply
Re: A grand way to start my day... [Khai] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply