Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
5 years of swimming with little progress
Quote | Reply
I'm in my fifth year of triathlon and I'm at my rope's end with swimming. I have an ftp 4w/kg, have run sub 3:00 marathons, but still hang around 2:00/100yd average in the pool. I understand that swimming is much more about skill, which I clearly lack. Three years ago I tried a six session group class in Total Immersion, which didn't stick. I've taken multiple private lessons with a TI coach, and nothing really clicked. Balance in the water is a problem, as I sink like a brick. The same with kicking; no matter how hard/long I work on kicking, I just can't get it. Kicking just a 25 burns out my legs. I've been logging 4-5 swims per week for the past several months, and little progress has been made. I'm easily a BOP swimmer, but not due to lack of effort. If I could just find a way to churn out even average swim times, I could actually stand a chance to be competitive in my age group. Any programs/books/methods I should check out? I know it's a general question, but I'm desperate for anything.
Quote Reply
Re: 5 years of swimming with little progress [Unswimmer] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I hear you and you hit the nail on the head. What gives? Wish I had some advice but for sure want to follow this post.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Personally I like the Swim Smooth stuff. Lots to work through. I'd look for somewhere that can video you swimming and then show you what to work on.

BTW I do like TI but, for me, when I tried it I was trying to be too long and slow. Swim Smooth is more about being analytical with where you are and then what the best way forward is.
Last edited by: OddSlug: Apr 28, 17 9:57
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Where to start?
Based on your other stats, there is little doubt that you could be much, much faster in the water.