Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

2013 Specialized Allez Expert
Quote | Reply
I’m just getting into triathlons and am looking to buy a first bike. My plan is to do a number of sprint and Olympic tris this summer, perhaps with a 70.3 in Sept. To that end, I’m considering a brand new 2013 Specialized Expert Allez that an LBS is offering for $1500. It’s a smartweld frame with full Ultegra mech. I’d be doing training/weekend rides and the sprint/olympic triathlons on it as I get into the sport. I don’t think I’m ready to take the plunge on a dedicated TT bike yet, at least until I get more into the sport.

Any thoughts on whether this is a good bike for my situation and, if so, whether the price is good? Seems like list price was $2400 back in 2013/14. Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: 2013 Specialized Allez Expert [zack.simmons] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That doesn't really sound like much of a deal to me. I think you should be able to do a lot better for $1500 than a 5 year old Allez. Not that the Allez wasn't a good bike, but you can get a new Tarmac for that. Yeah, it won't have Ultegra at that price, but I'd rather have a better frame than a better groupset. And if you decided to sell in the next couple years, you'll get much more out of a 2017/18 Tarmac than a 2013 Allez.

https://www.specialized.com/...?color=239633-129267

"They're made of latex, not nitroglycerin"
Last edited by: gary p: Apr 4, 18 10:55
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I agree with garyp. The allez is an awesome bike (I still use my 2010 allez all the time), but 1500 for that bike is still overpriced for that year range... maybe if it was less than $1000, but you can pick up newer/carbon bikes at that price point. You could buy the lowest-spec'd tarmac and replace the lower end components when they wear out. Tbh I think the 105 components of today are better than the ultegra from 5 years ago.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply