Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

1st race in 2 years--weight loss help?
Quote | Reply
Due to multiple injuries, I have not raced since Feb, 2010. I have put on 35 lbs in this time (from 160 to 195. I am 6 ft tall), due to inactivity, depression, divorce, life, etc. How realistic is it to drop a kilo a week for the next 15 weeks? Is 1/2 a kilo a week more realistic? I have been doing @5hours/ week of training for the past 2 months. I am going to ramp it up to 10 to 15 hours/ week over the next few months. I know that through a realistic/ healthy diet and an increase in triaining that the weight will come off. But I want some idea of a realistic expectation. Thanks!

Habitual line stepper.
Quote Reply
Re: 1st race in 2 years--weight loss help? [zeusrun] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Best choice is to see a nutritional consultant with endurance experience. As a rule of thumb we feel 60% to 70% of weight loss results come from nutritional plan - so focus on that. Obviously the training will help but there are lots of fat cyclists and runners out there who log a lot of miles with little weight loss to show for all those miles. Healthy & sustainable weight loss is generally considered 1 - 2 lbs max per week. Resist the quick fix options, they are not healthy and may pose a problem combined with all your training and most people simply put the weight back on once they stop. Congratulations on taking back control of your health!!!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Welcome back!!! 1kg per week is too much. Maybe half that would be sustainable. You're likely to burn out or re-injure yourself.

Run more.
Eat less.
No food after 6:30PM.

Good luck!
Quote Reply
Re: 1st race in 2 years--weight loss help? [nickwhite] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply