Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

10 weeks to IMFL, and I can't run due to injury. Looking for thoughts/advice on aqua-jogging or anything else.
Quote | Reply
So training was going great until a few weeks ago a nagging foot injury I've had for a long time got worse to the point now I can hardly run a single step. Been to the Doc, got a cortisone shot, but it has gotten worse instead of better since, despite not running on it. Already I've run about 1/4 mile in the last 10 days, and only 100 miles in the last 7 weeks. It does not feel like there is anyway I will be running on it anytime soon.

At this point I am pretty devastated, but not quite ready to give up after training all year for this race. So I'm thinking of giving the aqua-jogging thing a shot. I've never tried it before.

I've searched on here and found a couple of threads on it. Seems like the way to do it is with the aqua-jogger belt thing and not touching the ground. The pool where I swim is just a lap pool though and is only about 3' deep. I have a friend with a pool she says I can use - it is 5' at the deepest point, but shallower for most of it. Will I be able to do it in 5' of water? (I am 5'9"). If I rig up some sort of tether to hold me in place in that spot, will I still be able to do the motion necessary?

Or will running along the bottom of the pool work as well? This seems like it would be closer to actual running.

Maybe a stupid question, but how do you do it? Is there any technique to it other than just move like you are running?

If any of you have ever used it to substitute for running for a significant amount of time while training for a race, did you find it really maintained running-specific fitness when you got back to running? Intuitively, it seems to me the motion would be so different due to the resistance of the water that it wouldn't really translate very well.