Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
10 Days of Torture - Swimmers' Advice Needed
Quote | Reply
My 8 y/o is on a swim team that is starting "Ten Days of Torture" that will last through the holidays - longer distance practices, more intervals, etc. They have a reward at the end if he makes it to all the practices (special t-shirt, water bottle, etc.) Being a runner by trade who only swims the bare minimun necessary to compete in long-distance tris (1:05-1:10 w/ wetsuit (LP/WI), 1:19 w/o wetsuit (HI)), I'm not sure how to treat this. I'd appreciate the thougts of those who swam in HS/college - do you have painful memories of this type of training as a youngster? or does it bring back fond memories? I don't want to force him and have a burned out 11 y/o swimmer, but I do want to encourage him/help him through any "rough patches" when he might think staying home and watching Spongebob is more appealing. So, let's hear the horrors/dreams of yesteryear regarding your swimming experiences as a youngster. What made you stick it out, or alternatively what made you quit? and related to that, how much parental input was enough vs. too much?

_________
kangaroo -- please do not read or respond to any of my posts
Quote Reply
Re: 10 Days of Torture - Swimmers' Advice Needed [GJS] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
All swimmers I think remember those days as hell. But in all honesty, when I look back at those practices, they were really hard, but they made me stronger both mentally and physically (it must be the reason I enjoy putting myself through misery all these years later). I understand you worry about burnout, but try to encourage him to go and have fun-healthy competition. I can remember having practices where I hated being there, from the moment the carpool started until I went to bed, but today what I remember are the practices where I surprised myself on how good I could be. Make him go, you'll know when it's been too much.