Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

"13 Weeks" IM Training Plan
Quote | Reply
I have been following this plan as I train for IMCDA, which is my fist IM distance tri. The week before the race the plan has me doing a 2 hr ride followed by a 2 hr run. 2 weeks before the race I am supposed to do a 4:30 bike follwed by a 1 1/2 hr run. I recover well and have done more biking than the plan calls for, but it still seems like a lot during my taper.

What say the experts?
Quote Reply
Re: "13 Weeks" IM Training Plan [lefty] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Sounds like too much to do a 2x2 brick 7 days before the race. 14 days (which could also be "the week before" depending on the schedule), "maybe" if you have lots of base (more than 13 weeks). I have lots of experience and base and maybe I'd do a 2 hr run 10-14 days before, but definitely not sooner. I would guess the 13 week program is trying to get you used to running long when tired. That is important, but not at the expense of being un-recovered completely for your first IM. You definitely want to experience a "death march" sometime in your training, so you will be mentally prepared to soldier through. Just give your self enough time to be fully recovered, to the point of being scared you haven't done enough your last two weeks and that you have lost fitness (you haven't).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Don't you think it's a lot to ask of a 13 week plan to have a taper?
Quote Reply
Post deleted by Smitty8 [ In reply to ]
Re: "13 Weeks" IM Training Plan [kac94] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Don't you think it's a lot to ask of a 13 week plan to have a taper?