Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

!st ride on New Tri Bike need advice
Quote | Reply
Although I'm not a newbie I sure feel like one today....

Finally pulled the trigger on a Kestrel 4000 pro sl. I use to ride a 2005 aluminum Lemond Road bike with aero bars sooo much different. Rode the Kestrel for the first time this morning and am humbled. Boy my neck and shoulders weren't use to it so out of 30 miles only road probably 15/18 in aero. Also was surprised by my limited sight. Not that I can't see but for sure using peripheral vision a lot more.

Does anyone have advice on how to progress on this bike while still keeping up my training my next race is a HIM in 3 weeks?
Plus on a HIM distance race how much time should I expect myself to be in aero 95% of the time?
As for training I'm considering doing all my short mileage on the Kestrel this week and splitting up my long bike 65miles on both bikes or should I ride the new bike just only stay in aero as much as I can tolerate?

By the way, I will be going in after a couple more rides to have some adjustments made. Thanks for any advice you can shed.

COtrimom

Quote Reply
Re: !st ride on New Tri Bike need advice [COTrimom] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
ride it every other day for a while, and if you don't start getting used to it within 3 or 4 days, adjust the position to be less low, or adjust the angle or width of the aerobars to see if you can find relief.

Kat Hunter reports on the San Dimas Stage Race from inside the GC winning team
Aeroweenie.com -Compendium of Aero Data and Knowledge
Freelance sports & outdoors writer Kathryn Hunter
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
+1 ride it every other day. when I changed to the much more aggressive position I'm in now, I rode every other day, albeit slightly abbreviated distances, but pushed the speed as much as possible.