Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
overestimated FTP - now burnt out
Quote | Reply
Hi folks,

Has this ever happened to anyone? Basically, for my winter training through about now I have been taking 95% of my 20min FTP test as my FTP and set all my zones accordingly. However, I recently did an actual, all-out 1hr TT where my avg power was about 90% of my 20min tests and a solid 35w less than my "predicted" FTP.

So essentially I have been doing all my intervals WAY too hard for the past 6 months, and with about 4 weeks to go until my "A" race, my legs feel absolutely cooked. How bad did I dun goof?
Quote Reply
Re: overestimated FTP - now burnt out [johnj121591] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Is it possible you just suck at pacing 1 hour FTP tests since you've only ever done it once?

--Chris
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
So are you saying you didn't follow or try to pace the TT based on your ftp? You just went by feel then?

If so, I agree with the other guy that you probably paced it wrong. I've done the same thing on a short TT where I pushed too hard on the first half and was dead for the last few miles. (no power meter then).

This year finally got some but no time to race :(
Quote Reply
Re: overestimated FTP - now burnt out [chriselam] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
^Definitely possible, but for that 1 hr test I started out shooting for about 10+w less than my initial "predicted" ftp, which was 365 at the time. Started out shooting for ~350 and held that for around 35 mins but then started fading such that my last 10 mins were at like 305 and my total average was 330. My HR for the ordeal correlated with what I would expect for an all-out 60min effort.

For months I had been doing intervals based on an ftp of 365 (i.e. thresholds around 345w, vo2's around 405w) but for the last few weeks my legs have felt a *tad* fried. Any chance of getting myself together in the next month?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply