Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: overestimated FTP - now burnt out [johnj121591] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It's all good. Do a few rides at about 65-70% of (your real) FTP for your next few workouts until you feel better and then get back on track. Dead legs should heal in less than a week this way.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Could it be that you ride aero for most of your training? I find that I fatigue faster climbing than on steady flat efforts, which makes sense since I have done most of my FTP work aero on a rollertrainer or on a flat strech of road (I unfourtenately have any 20 minute climbs nearby to vary it with).
Quote Reply
Re: overestimated FTP - now burnt out [kdw] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
kdw wrote:
"So essentially I have been doing all my intervals WAY too hard for the past 6 months"

Personally, the way I know I'm doing the intervals WAY too hard is that I can't do them. If you were actually burnt out, you'd stop hitting your #s.

My thought exactly. How do you do intervals too hard? I don't think I've ever heard of such a thing.

I mean, I can maybe see feeling good and crushing a workout or crazy group ride above and beyond every once in a while and digging a hole for the next couple of days, but consistently doing workouts too hard? Maybe it's a time trial training thing?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Did your training prepare you for the specificity of this time trial? I'm guessing not. Don't worry about it, keep doing what you've been doing, but start incorporating rides specific to the nature of your A race to dial in your pacing.
Quote Reply
Re: overestimated FTP - now burnt out [jet black] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
haha, definitely an ego blow to have my ftp actually be 30w lower than predicted. I was having sooooo much fun imagining the possibilities!